Victory Patterns: Hannah

Rarely does a pattern appear that stylistically sums me up and rarer still does a pattern appear that I can sew without grading between sizes. A massive thank you to Kristiann for drafting a spectacular garment that apparently makes me “look ten years younger,” according to my dear friend Naomi who just happened to have stuck her head out the door in the shot below.

IMG_3787

I would love to offer glamour shots but the truth is, I can’t. This is me in real life. The Middle East is gritty, in all senses of the word, and that is part of its charm. Things get dusty about three seconds after cleaning and the shamal at this time of year can be relentless. You wouldn’t think there was much to blow around in the desert but I can vouch that there are tonnes of sand not anchored down by anything bar the odd camel.

On top of the gritty factor, I myself am not that refined. I don’t have a hair or makeup stylist, I don’t have straight teeth, I wear glasses, I’m not all toned and tanned, and I apparently have a big nose (according to a Lebanese hairdresser I went to for the first time shortly after moving here). And because I know you are wanting to ask, no, I didn’t ask her whether she had looked in the mirror lately nor did I come out with a pithy saying such as it takes one to know one. I am, in fact, a working mum to two teenagers who gets up at 5am every day in order to be teaching other teenagers at 7am. I drag myself home at 4pm and try to muster up the strength to prepare a half decent meal but usually end up serving cereal. Actually, I lie; I make them serve themselves 🙂

This, my friends, is me. Nose and all. In my new dress.

Made from a thick, shockingly hot pink linen from The Fabric Store in Melbourne, this fabric was destined to be a Vogue pattern Ivona, my sewing bestie, selected for our Rome meet up this July. As this is not a colour I usually subscribe to, it was put to the side as I concentrated on other things. I even forewarned Ivona that I probably wouldn’t get time to sew it up before the trip. But next thing I knew, there was Hannah and there she was in my inbox. Just like that.

IMG_3830

In review: the instructions are impeccable and result in a well constructed garment. The only thing I did differently was that I hand stitched down the bindings and the hem facing as I don’t like these things showing. And, I’m yet to add buttons as I can’t find any here.

Next time? Yes, the fabric is ready to be cut out but first of all I must lengthen the dress a smidge as I like a bit more coverage for times when bending is required. I also like to consider the needs to the viewing public as I came close to scarring my son for life with images of his mum’s home made knickers starring at him from across the room as I bent to tie up my shoes. Oh, the shame of it all 🙂

IMG_3831

So, highly recommended for the pear shaped beauties out there, plus anyone else that likes structural design in clothing. I can’t wait to see what comes from the stables of Victory Patterns next.

Until next time, chat quietly about anything but the nose. Not the nose!

chacha-signature-2

15 thoughts on “Victory Patterns: Hannah

  1. Love the colour and really lovely dress. You look very glamorous and perfect deals for Rome.
    I hope you have a wonderful time away meeting up with so many Melbourne friends. We will be away in France and UK ourselves though June and July. Shame we couldn’t squeeze in a little trip to Italy to see you.
    Mandy x

    • It’s always the way, isn’t it? Imagine us all together in Rome; the Wantirna crew 🙂 Well, I know you will have an amazing time yourselves. so can’t wait to see some pics! N x

    • Thanks, Sue! I think it would lovely on you. I think it would also make up well in a fine wool for winter so maybe you don’t need to wait that long 🙂

  2. a) cereal. you are my hero.
    b) they have to get it themselves. that’s parenting!
    c) your nose is fine. just fine.
    d) this dress really is you if you were hot pink linen. it’s gorgeous. quite apart from agreeing with you on the flattering cut element, it is fresh vibrant summery relaxed.
    e) bwahaha fell off the chair about home-made knickers. stop it!

  3. The colour is sensational and looks adorable on you, especially with the necklace and sandals and lovely haircut by your rude hairdresser. I think you look like a model in that perfect turquoise chair.

    • Kate, you are too kind. Here’s a virtual hug for you 🙂 Sewing this dress up and sitting on my chair made me remember just how fab colour is! N x

  4. Dearest sewing bestie, I should be at least a little upset with you for not sticking to the sewing challenge and using the intended pattern for the hot pink linen…..BUT…. I am so glad you chose to use it and think the colour of the fabric and cut of the dress look fantastic on you! The whole look is very fresh, summery and classy! ChaCha rocking vibrant colour! Yeah! Love the shoes too! Ivona x

Leave a Reply

