Merchant & Mills: Curlew

Following my public proclamation that I would sew up nine new patterns during the course of 2016, and attempting to work my way through my stash in order to appease my husband, I whipped up a Merchant & Mills Curlew top from their Workbook in some charcoal linen. In a fit of delusion, and probably because I can usually size down in Merchant & Mills patterns, I cut out a size I have not been since I was two years old. Let me introduce you to va-va-voom ChaCha

IMG_7543.JPG

Ok, not too bad in this shot but did you notice how I deceptively shot this? Now for a less than stellar back shot…

IMG_7545

Let me introduce you to my hefty twin sister, Helga the Russian fridge thrower. She looks like she has some kobasice tucked up under there but when I man-handled her, I found that she was telling the truth; it was, indeed, just the way the linen was sitting.

From another angle, the top also makes me appear to have a very large bosom which I do not have (size 8 in Australian underwear) so I am not sure what is going on there.

IMG_7535

Anyway, I somehow managed it suction it off without losing a layer of skin so all was not lost. Once off, I gave it my dear friend Sal as she is a smidge *cough cough* smaller than I and also happens to love wearing black. I would actually love to try the dress version of the Curlew but that will be for another day.

Lastly, in a moment of reflection, this top makes me continue to question what body shape I really am. In the past three years, I have had two body shape assessments by two professional people trained in such stuff. One claimed that I was a pear while the other said I was an hourglass. Totally confused, I went to the source of all body wisdom and asked Trinny and Susannah. They said I was a Skittle. Maybe I should just go eat some and call it a day 🙂 What do you think, loyal readership?

ChaCha signature 2

PS: And when I say I ‘went to Trinny and Susannah’ I don’t mean I consulted their books. I went to Trinny and Susannah.

 

3 thoughts on “Merchant & Mills: Curlew

  1. fridge-thrower hey? kielbasa is the only thing that will get you through those hectic training sessions. and may i just say, what a magnificently athletic two year old this means you must have been!

    i was reading this post with some interest, admiring the first image and the binding, but confess to a hearty guffaw as i scrolled to the big reveal. i’m so glad your friend could give a home to the otherwise lovely garment. perhaps it was meant to be this way?

    meanwhile, most sincere congratulations on the word-smithery cha-cha. a delight.

Leave a Reply

