Back in the saddle

Dear Reader

Please excuse my absence from the blog these past few months; our transition to life in a new land has been busy. That said, I have completed a few garments: another (unblogged) pair of Anima Pants and this gem, the Pauline Alice Carme blouse.

Made from Merchant and Mills’ “hand spun, woven by hand, using no harmful chemicals and barely any electricity” 100% cotton Indian Handweave Round Tree fabric, this proved an interesting make. Firstly, although gorgeous and earthy, block print fabric and I cannot be friends due to their down hill tendencies. I know that now. So I live with unparallel-to-the-ground round trees and wish for a steadier stamping hand for the artisan. Secondly, the slubby fabric caused my machine to stitch unevenly; cranky number two. However, both of these issues are minor and I can live with them in this garment.

The pattern came together easily except for the front placket. For some reason, it does not overlap in my version and this irritates me to no end. For this reason, I was unable to use buttons/buttonholes and looked elsewhere for a fastening solution. Little black press studs did the trick nicely. One feature worth checking is the bust dart placement as going by the photos, it would appear that I am optimistically reminiscing. Must check this. Size wise, I melded together a number of lines. For the shoulder seam and neckline, a 38. For the armscye, a 34. For the sleeve, a 38 and for the side seam, a 34 under the arm grading out to a 38 at the hip. A hot mess really but a reflection of the way my body chooses to present itself. As I said, a hot mess really 🙂

Worn here with some Gap khaki cords, a Fossil watch and my latest shoes from Massimo Dutti, this top is easy to wear.

And, in an attempt to link title to text, here is an action shot of the shirt. As I said, back in the saddle.

IMG_2248

Until next time, chat quietly amongst yourselves.

chacha-signature-2

10 thoughts on “Back in the saddle

  1. Beautiful!!

    *From:* Feature Zip [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] *Sent:* Monday, January 26, 2015 3:46 AM *To:* midines@optusnet.com.au *Subject:* [New post] Back in the saddle

    auntychacha posted: “Dear Reader Please excuse my absence from the blog these past few months; our transition to life in a new land has been busy. That said, I have completed a few garments: another (unblogged) pair of Anima Pants and this gem, the Pauline Alice Carme blou”

  2. you know, the untrained eye will never know your trees aren’t parallel to the ground.
    but it’s a lovely top and no doubt wears very well. nicely done cha-cha.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Miss LegoTeapot, and for the reminder that most people would not even notice! (Love the name, by the way)

  3. Ooh that’s lovely and it looks nice and cool! Where in the Middle East did you move to? My aunt moved to Abu Dhabi a few years ago but only lasted 2 years before jumping ship to Hong Kong, she couldn’t take the heat!

    • Hi Zoe and welcome to my blog 🙂

      Thanks for the nice comment. I am halfway through another version of the same top (cut the same day as I finished this one; therefore, not taking into account that a few minor fit issues may need to be addressed 😦 ) which is coming along nicely. My only difficulty here is finding all the necessary bits to complete a garment; no Spotlight here! Output has really slowed down as a consequence 😦 We are in Qatar and although still winter, are reaching low 30’s every day already. I understand why some people cannot take it long term!

      • My aunt sews too and she found it really hard to find sewing supplies as well, she doesnt now shes innHong Kong haha! Oh cool! When I’m out of uni my dream job would be working for Al Jazeera so I could end up there (fingers crossed) in 5 years or so 😀

      • Zoe, Al Jazeera are on the same work site as we are so we see them out filming regularly. Good to have a goal to work toward!

Leave a Reply

