Frocking the Belcarra

Although I love sewing and think my skills are on the positive side of good, I am paralysed when it comes to personalising a pattern. I stand in awe of bloggers who, with apparent ease, whip out their tape measure, wield their sharpened shears and create some garment magic in but a moment. Up until the recent Tessuti Jaywalk competition, I had never sewn anything without a pattern nor altered a pattern in any way. Jaywalk inspired me to have a go and although I did nothing amazing, I was inspired to try further. May I introduce you to my ‘further’; my frocked up Belcarra. Made especially for my friend Dee’s 40th birthday afternoon tea at Montsalvat today, it was not totally weather appropriate for our top of 14.C / 57.F. Consequently, I did not get many photos but will add some full length ones during the week.

The details: Sewaholic Belcarra in size 0, with the addition of a gentle A-line skirt drafted on to the bottom of the blouse. Made in a cotton chambray from Clegs for $8.00/m on sale months ago.

11 thoughts on “Frocking the Belcarra

  1. Your dress looks lovely and well crafted. Kudos to you for taking on the challenge of self-drafting the skirt on to the blouse. I’m sure you must feel great satisfaction on your success!

    • Thanks so much for you kind comment! The necklace is a scarf that I crocheted in 100% linen thread. The pattern is the Callista scarf from CrocheTrend on Etsy; I only crocheted half of the pattern as the instructions are not overly clear and it is a little time consuming!

Leave a Reply

