La Petite Robe – Vanessa Pouzet

A new day, a new dress. Finished just in time to walk out the door to my dental appointment. My dentist’s parents are both tailors so we yack on about sewing while  she works on my teeth.  This number is from new-to-me French independent designer Vanessa Pouzet in Iquitos Navy (97%/3% cotton/spandex) fabric from Tessuti (no longer available online but I did see it in store today).

Overall, the pattern appealed to me; however, I contemplated making changes to the sleeve head as I don’t like gathers AT ALL but decided against it as I thought my first iteration should remain somewhat true to the original design. So here ’tis, together with our version of the Toyota leap!

I cut a size 42 but ended up taking in the side seams by an additional 1cm (effectively making it a size 38 through the body). I also shortened the sleeves by 6″, added very long darts in the back, and lengthened the dress considerably. I great little dress and super comfy to wear to the dentist! And a visit to Noisette, Tessuti, The Cloth Shop… By the way, Vanessa’s patterns have to be the EASIEST pdf’s to put together; no cutting or folding, just butt the edge of the pages together and you are right to go!

Until next time, chat quietly amongst yourselves.

ChaCha signature 2

5 thoughts on “La Petite Robe – Vanessa Pouzet

  1. This is a lovely dress and really nice fabric from Tessuti. I have not heard of this French pattern company before. I am pleased that the PDF pieces were easy to put together.

Leave a Reply

