American Maths Does My Head In!

Today I want to do something simple involving a multiplication problem. However, I do not know how as I am not American nor do I understand imperial measurement. Essentially, I want to shorten the length of a piece of fabric but as the length is in inches, my brain cannot compute how to do this. If anyone out there can help me please do!

Here is my sum: 24 5/8 inches x 7/8 inches.

I do know that my new piece of fabric will be slightly shorter but by how much is the burning question!

Until next time, keep chatting quietly amongst yourselves.

ChaCha signature 2

 

Update: I found an excellent website which provides the numbers for converting imperial fractions into metric decimals. Go here.

Leave a Reply

