Vogue 1314

Week 1 of the holidays drew to a close and with it the completion of my first piece of apparel sewing for the holidays. Made from two different weights of stretch jersey from The Cloth Shop in Ivanhoe, this garment was a treat to sew. Although stretch fabric is very forgiving to work with it is not that forgiving on the lumps and bumps that appear as we age so I am extra glad that I followed instructions and lined the dress.

IMG_5046

Two things that I would change next time: firstly, I would not bother sewing darts into the lining as they do show through the heavier outer fabric and secondly, I would gather the dress more through the sides. Talking about the gathers for a moment…my sewing machine (an Elna SU from the 70’s) seems to flatten out any gathering that I make resulting in what looks more like a tuck than a gather. Does anyone have any suggestions about how I can rectify this? I thought that I possibly should try using a different foot…)

Overall, I am happy with the dress, LOVE the colour on me (does anyone have an opinion on whether this colour suits me?) and will make it again. Maybe as a short sleeved version for summer?

Until next time, keep chatting quietly amongst yourselves.

ChaCha signature 2

4 thoughts on “Vogue 1314

      • You are very welcome! ๐Ÿ™‚
        One more suggestion – I am not so sure what kind of fabric for the lining you used but there are as well stretch fabrics which are more suitabel as lining under the knitted fabrics.

Leave a Reply

